Tofu Chilli

There are so many types of TOFU available in Singapore that, on a recent food shopping trip, my husband suggested we try and make a chilli using it (for health and budget reasons).  We were unsure of how the Tofu would react to being stirred vigorously while all the ingredients were being added, so engaged the help of a friendly Singaporean lady who was more than willing to advise.  She suggested we buy ‘Tau Kwa’ as it is extra firm and will hold it’s shape.

Tofu Chilli ingredients singapore

The First Four Ingredients

I then had to look up a recipe on line as I am a complete coward when it comes to trying to cook anything new.  I found a good recipe: Hearty Vegetarian Tofu Chilli on the site Food.com but of course, not having all the ingredients mentioned, I tweaked the ingredients list.  Here’s my list of ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon Oil
  • I Brown Onion, chopped
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, chopped
  • 2 small red chilli peppers
  • I Packet Firm Tofu, drained and crumbled
  • 1-2 tsp Cumin
  • 1-2 tsp chilli powder or Hot Pimiento
  • I tin diced Tomatoes
  • 1 tin Tomato Sauce
  • 1 tin Kidney beans
  • 1 carrot, sliced or diced
  • Salt and Black Pepper
  • Dried Oregano

Heat the oil and fry the onion until browned, add the garlic and chillies along with the cumin and chilli powder for another 2 minutes or so.

Chilli Tofu recipe singapore

This doesn’t look awfully appetising!

Add the crumbled tofu and attempt to brown it.  This was taking forever and I was (slightly) impatient so decided it was never going to brown and did it matter anyway?  Next, stir in gently, the kidney beans, tomatoes and tomato sauce, carrots and oregano and season it.  

Chilli Tofu recipe singapore

This is looking a lot better!

You can let it simmer away on the hob, but I transferred mine to the slow cooker for around 5 to 7 hours on low (I like the comforting whiff around the place)!  Serve in your usual way.

I will definitely be making it again, it was DELICIOUS and even the kids liked it.  If you have any (easy) Tofu recipes that you think I may be interested in, please send me a link!

Happy Eating!

4 thoughts on “Tofu Chilli

I would love to hear your thoughts...

