a trip to the Peranakan Museum

Peranakan Museum

I have been wanting to visit this museum for the past three years and, finally this week, I managed it.  I’m so glad I did as I had a wonderful time strolling around the wooden floorboarded building which I had practically to myself.

It was built in 1912 in the ‘eclectic classical’ style; it’s function, a school.  In 1942 it closed when the war started and the Japanese invaded Singapore.  They occupied it as a Military Headquarters until October 1945.  Two months after the Japanese surrendered it became a school again.  The museum opened in 2008.      Peranakan Museum

Peranakan Museum

Peranakan Museum

My main reason for visiting was to acquire some information and inspiration for my planned upcoming collection, based on the colours of the Peranakan Ceramics which I absolutely love.

To see more photos from inside the museum, please visit these posts:

the Peranakan kitchen

antique jewellery worn by the Peranakans

beaded slippers Peranakan style

little museum café

a stroll down Armenian Street

For more details on the Peranakan Museum, click here.

For more information about the Peranakans, click here

13 thoughts on “a trip to the Peranakan Museum

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      It was, I’m so glad I went by myself (I’ve been trying to get the family to be cultural and go with me for years) as I could take my time. Look out for future posts with photos of the items the Peranakans produced, they were very aesthetic. Thanks for stopping by Jo! Cath

  1. JeannieRichard says:

    Glad you finally made you trip to there 😀
    Peranakans have a very rich culture – food, jewellery, pottery, fashion, just about everything!
    My lineage is of Peranakan where my grandmother would always be in her Kebaya playing chap-ji-ki to kill time, or cooking buah kuluah (yum), or simply be the iron matriarch of the household.

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      That’s fascinating, what a nice heritage you have! Thanks for the insight on everyday life. I certainly enjoyed the museum and love the look of the everyday and special occasion items. Cath

I would love to hear your thoughts...

