Simply Seeds

The photos speak for themselves – luscious vibrant red seeds that I collected on my evening walk,  who can resist picking these up?  I later found that they are seeds of the Saga Tree (kindly advised by Sydney Fong on his blog Add Grain on Earth which has some very interesting posts on Singapore, not just trees)!  I also found out these seeds are 1 gram each and were widely used as a weight measurement for gold and silver in days gone by.

My seeds have been planted now by my husband – let’s hope we can start our own saga.

Check out Sydney’s post to see the Saga Tree in the Botanic Garden.

19 thoughts on “Simply Seeds

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      Yes, my thoughts exactly. I must bring our drill out from Portugal so I can have a go! I found one of the seeds on top of a pot this week, and it’s still pristine, not winkled or anything, so I’m not sure what it’s like inside, may be rather tough! Cath

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      I’m not sure, next time (before they get planted!) I will keep some aside and monitor them. I guess everything decomposes eventually. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Cath

  1. utesmile says:

    It is a vibrant colour, couln’t you use it to make a bracelet out of it? Or are they going wrinkly? They would be perfect beads! ??

I would love to hear your thoughts...

