Burkill Hall Orchid Garden

In (a very wet) February this year I visited the National Orchid Garden in Singapore.  What a treat if you love orchids like me!  The first part of the trail takes you to Burkill Hall, a colonial plantation bungalow built in 1886. It used to be the director’s house and was named in honour of the only father and son pair to hold the post of Director of Singapore Botanic Gardens, Isaac and Humphrey Burkill.  It’s what’s commonly known as a ‘black and white house’ here.

Burkill Hall, Singapore

The garden behind the house feels magical, with a hushed silence, which might be partly to do with the museum-like atmosphere of the VIP collection.  Orchids that have been named after famous people reside here, including Princess Diana, Margaret Thatcher and Queen Elizabeth.

Burkill hall Singapore

Unfortunately, due to the rain I didn’t make a note of which orchid belonged to who, I had a limited time during the dry spell to get around the garden, so here are just a few more shots of the orchids that I managed to get in focus.  But don’t worry, the next part of my visit will be featured soon, as there are more than 1,000 species and 2,000 hybrids of orchids located in the garden!

8 thoughts on “Burkill Hall Orchid Garden

  1. the eternal traveller says:

    How beautiful. Cath, you keep posting about lovely places to see in Singapore and I keep thinking we could go there in September. But I can’t fit it all into one day. I will have to choose carefully.

I would love to hear your thoughts...

