Trimming the Bamboo

One gardening job that I insist is mine every year when we return to our garden is to trim the bamboo.  Here are the before and after shots:

bushy stems all the way up

bushy stems all the way up

downing tools for a rest (and a quick glass of beer)!

downing tools for a rest (and a quick glass of beer)!

trimmed to a level where we can see through to the garden behind

trimmed to a level where we can see through to the garden behind and my cat Lucky!

from another angle towards the house

I added pebbles collected from the beach

I added pebbles collected from the beach

to make the living stone plant feel at home. This Lithops is left to it’s own devices, hence the shabby image, however it manages to flower every year!

 

9 thoughts on “Trimming the Bamboo

  1. Charlene says:

    yes, I’ve been trimming ours as well. It desperately needs it. Although, the dogs and cats don’t mind the extra branches, it gives them places in which to hide.

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      If only mine were more dense to allow my cat to hide (I think she’s probably too big anyway!) Oh well, I am very patient and at least it’s not such a heavy job as I only get chance once a year at the moment to prune it (not like our overgrown bougainvillea – I left that to the hubby). Love your metal earrings by the way.

I would love to hear your thoughts...

