Dimbula tea

A Sri Lankan friend of my husband brought me some teas from Ceylon which I have decided to try individually. I’m not one for opening more than one packet at a time, especially in the humid Singapore climate.

Ceylon Tea

the three teas

I decided to start with the Dimbula Tea, not knowing any difference between them, I just liked the name and the blue & gold box colour!

Dimbula Tea

the Dimbula

The tea is described as ‘giving a bright flavour cup with milk at breakfast or tea time’.  I think it tastes equally good without milk but add just a splash if you want some in.  You can definitely taste the tannins in this tea.  Wanting some more information on what Dimbula actually means, I found these interesting few paragraphs on the Sri Lankan Tea Board website:

Southwards from Kandy, the central mountains rise in elevation until the plateau of Nuwara Eliya is reached. Beyond, the land descends in a series of peaks and passes before rising again to a second high plateau, known as Horton Plains, from the edge of which it falls precipitously down to the forests of Bintenna  thousands of feet below. Between these two high plateau lies the tea-growing district of Dimbula.

The history of this part of Sri Lanka actually begins with the plantation enterprise, for before its pioneers began opening up the hill country, it was uninhabited and almost impenetrable. This was the true Mayarata or Land of Illusions, reputed haunt of demons and evil spirits, where only the most desperate outcasts and fugitives ever ventured – never, more often than not, to be seen again. Wild elephants by the thousand, deer and sambhur by the tens of thousands, grazed upon the high, misty meadows of Horton Plains, safe from hunters and settlers; eagles rode the biting winds, pythons and leopards silently pursued their prey through rhododendron woods and dank, mossy cloud-forests where orchids of fantastic shape and colour glowed in the darkness among the tree-trunks – all unseen by Man, who had never once ventured here since the dawn of time.

Sounds exciting, doesn’t it?

Its isolation ended with the coming of tea in the 1870s. Dimbula was, in fact, one of the earliest districts to be planted in the new crop. The teas of the district were found to produce a distinctive flavour of their own, one that lovers of fine tea prize to this day.

glass tea pot

the Dimbula; brewed.

I’ve had to make a pot after all this talk about tea, and with it, a piece of my banana bread that I made last night! Bottoms’ up!

For my post on Herbal Teas, click here!

5 thoughts on “Dimbula tea

  1. Gallivanta says:

    I have a friend nearby who comes from Kandy. She often tells me about the wonderful teas from that region. Funny you should mention your banana bread. I was thinking about your recipe but decided to make my same old, same old, banana cake tonight. It is fresh from the oven and smelling good.

I would love to hear your thoughts...

