Faro, Portugal

One baking hot Sunday afternoon back in the Summer, my daughter and I decided to have a stroll around Faro after dropping my son off at Faro airport for his week’s work experience in Munich.  Faro is the southernmost city in continental Portugal and the capital of the Algarve region.

The first sight to greet us after parking the car was the marina.

Faro marina

We walked around the water’s edge to the old part of the City which has some lovely Portuguese facades and winding streets.

Stopping for a rest under a tree near the Cathedral

Some of the buildings require a paint job!

Look carefully at the top of the next building:

some more Storks who nest anywhere!

storks on lampost

If you like my photos please leave a…

comment bench

or if you don’t, leave…

 

 

19 thoughts on “Faro, Portugal

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos from Faro, it’s taken me some time to get them organised! Thanks for mentioning me in your post – would be great to have some more readers! Have a wonderful Sunday (just getting the roast in the oven)! Cath x

  1. catbirdineurope says:

    Many of Portugal’s buildings do need a paint job, but that’s part of its charm. 🙂 Love that “no comment” bench. I was just in Tavira this summer and took a bus from Faro to Evora. Loved Portugal! Love those storks too (they are storks, right??). 🙂

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      Yes they are the lovely storks which return every year to nest. Evora is great too isn’t it? Went camping there once. And it’s buildings seem to be better kept than the Algarve’s! You are right though, it’s part of their charm 🙂

    • catbirdineurope says:

      I saw some of the storks in Portugal, but didn’t get any great pictures like you have! I loved Evora too. I think all of Portugal’s buildings are a little worse for the wear, even in Evora, but then again, I did find them charming. I really miss both Spain and Portugal now that I’m back in the USA. 🙂

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      I miss them too now I am back in Singapore (been living here for over four years now) but have lived in both Portugal an d Spain. We are lucky to have a house in Portugal though, and return there at least once a year. Eventually we will move back 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts...

