flapjack recipe

Hello there!  I’ve been quiet today trying to catch up with all my housework jobs plus getting a custom made order out (a lovely contrasting pair of anklets to Vancouver), preparing for my next animal guest (four cats left us yesterday – cute post to follow!) and… well, you know the feeling!

Flapjacks on a plate

yesterday’s batch

I’ve decided to post a quick recipe, for the Flapjacks which were featured on Monday’s weekend wanderings.  I’ve made some more since then… note to self: make more in one go then I don’t have to keep putting the oven on in 32 degree heat!

flapjacks in a glass dish

the pizza cutter is a good idea

As you can see if you click through to my recipes category, I like things to be simple and easy and this recipe is no different, just four ingredients, perfect:

  • 75g butter
  • 60g light brown sugar (or any sugar you have to hand really)
  • 1tbs golden syrup
  • 175g porridge oats
  1. In a large pan, melt the butter, sugar and syrup together.  When melted, remove from the heat and stir in the oats till covered in the syrup mixture.
  2. Tip into a greased baking tin or ovenproof dish, (guessing now, the size is approx. 8 x 5″) and press down firmly and evenly with the back of a large spoon.
  3. Bake at 180 degrees C for approximately 20 minutes until golden brown.
  4. Cut into your bar size of choice whilst still warm and allow to cool in the tin.

Makes about 10 Flapjacks.

flapjack

feeling hungry?

I looked up where the name Flapjack came from and this is what I found on Ask.com:

“The name flapjack is known to have come from Britain during the 17th century. At this time the word flap was used to mean a sharp movement or a jerk or flip. The word Jack was then used to refer to a male commoner employed to work in the kitchen as an assistant. The role then became known with food cooked by him and thus the name flapjack.”

Are Flapjacks called Flapjacks in your country?

23 thoughts on “flapjack recipe

  1. Ursula Fletcher says:

    Eventually bought the ingredients to try your recipe flapjacks, going to try them out tomorrow the boys should be pleased !

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      In America they are pancakes (just Googled it), so maybe the story (at the end of my post) of how flapjacks got their name was adjusted in the US, to a commoner (called Jack) who made pancakes rather than oat bars. Sounds rather confusing doesn’t it?

      They are like a granola bar, and often I add extra seeds to make it extra healthy. Thanks for stopping by!

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      It’s unusual to have the same name for two distinctly different types of food (and could be confusing if you went to England and wanted Flapjacks for breakfast)! You would get looks, I tell you!

  2. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    In the U.S., flapjacks are pancakes. I think what you’ve made would be called baked oatmeal over here.

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      I thought I had heard the name Flapjack referring to pancakes (in the movies) and didn’t put two-and-two together until I really thought about it! I guess it’s called a flapjack for the same reason: a man called Jack, flaps (or flips) a pancake in the air and the name sticks!

I would love to hear your thoughts...

