returning to Mumbai

Further to my Friday Family Flashback : Bombay (posted, oh my, was it really two weeks ago) I promised I would post some more photos from that trip in 2004.  The photos are not brilliant, I don’t know if it was the camera OR the weather in Mumbai but it all adds to the atmosphere of this interesting, tiring, surprising, at times shocking city.  As I said before, I first went to Mumbai  (to live) when my first child was just 3 months old and it was one of the most interesting times of my life!  The photos from that time unfortunately are not digital and are safely packed in boxes in my home in Portugal (to be gone through at some point in the future – how fun will that be)!   Enjoy:

first day walk on the Oval Maidan - Bombay High Court

first day walk on the Oval Maidan – Bombay High Court

a black kite tearing at some unfortunate creature

a black kite tearing at some unfortunate creature

The Rajabai Tower

The Rajabai Tower

Spiral Staircase, University of Mumbai Library

Spiral Staircase, University of Mumbai Library

Can't remember or find out what this building is!

Can’t remember or find out what this building is!

Taking a well earned break at the Taj Mahal Hotel

Taking a well earned break at the Taj Mahal Hotel

The iconic Gateway of India

The iconic Gateway of India

Ferries waiting at shore

Ferries waiting at shore

Out exploring again..

Out exploring again..

a common sight at every traffic light

a common sight at every traffic light

a general street scene

a general street scene

At the Thieves Bazaar, love the lady in green!

At the Thieves Bazaar, love the lady in green!

Mumbai Train Station Dome

Mumbai Train Station Dome

Again, not sure of this place - please help

Again, not sure of this place – please help

view from the Oberoi Hotel towards Marine Drive

view from the Oberoi Hotel towards Marine Drive

catching a Bajaj Taxi - going home...

catching a Bajaj Taxi – going home…

20 thoughts on “returning to Mumbai

  1. anyone4curryandotherthings says:

    She is called “Mumbai’s Angel” and stands tall at the circle in front of CST-Station (formerly VT=Victoria Terminus). She stands atop the gothic architecture of the imposing Bombay Municipal Corporation Building, now the Brhan Mumbai Mahanagr palika and dates back to 1893Hope we could help! Watch your photos in Portugal – ours from around the world long time ago have been ruined!!!!!!! Carina

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      Hi Carina

      Thanks very much for letting me know who she is! I would never have been able to find out all that information. I presume you have been or lived there to be so knowledgeable. Thanks for the advice on the photos – one day I will be scanning them to go onto the computer (when I have a spare six months)! Shame about yours, I hope you managed to salvage some at least. Thanks, Cath

  2. Tracy Rhynas says:

    I had no idea the architecture there was so amazing – the spiral staircase and the train station dome are now on my “want to see” list. I always imagine Mumbai as being a bit dark and sinister – I have probably watched too many films!! It certainly does look interesting though.

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      The architecture all over India is superb, with many buildings unfortunately going to ruin (mainly in other parts). It obviously has it’s dark areas but in the main it’s a bright, vibrant place. 🙂

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Fantastic architecture and the photos capture that strange atmosphere that hangs over places like Mumbai and New ‘Delhi and Cairo etc. I went to live in New Delhi when my son was 6 months old!

I would love to hear your thoughts...

