it’s not too late to make a Christmas cake!

I made mine last week, so I know!  OK, it may not have the steeping and feeding richness of a cake made weeks ago, but it sure tastes good.  Taken from Nigella’s Feast Recipe book – it’s the Easy Action Christmas Cake:

Christmas Cake

the finished product

      I substitute dried apricots for part of the dried fruit and use apricot jam instead of the chestnut puree.

chopping the apricots

chopping the apricots

melting the butter, sugar, jam and fruit etc

melting the butter, sugar, jam and fruit etc

oh, and the brandy (courtesy of Emirates Airlines) instead of rum

oh, and the brandy (courtesy of Emirates Airlines) instead of rum

sousing the fruit – this bit smells the best

sousing the fruit – this bit smells the best

after the flour, eggs & spices have been added & ready to go into the tin

after the flour, eggs & spices have been added & ready to go into the tin

the well-insulated tin (I remove the paper clips before putting in the oven)!

the well-insulated tin (I remove the paper clips before putting in the oven)!

the cooling cake – this takes all day in the Singapore heat..

the cooling cake – this takes all day in the Singapore heat..

I don’t decorate my Christmas cake, quite frankly it doesn’t need anything else except a strong cup of English tea!

I hope you will find the time to make this cake if you need one; the aroma it gives off while baking will get you into the Christmas mood and it’s easy too.  Good luck!

19 thoughts on “it’s not too late to make a Christmas cake!

  1. the eternal traveller says:

    I use Glen’s mother’s recipe to make the fruit cake for Christmas. It is so easy and also delicious. I made one two weeks ago and it’s nearly half gone already. I don’t bother with brown paper though. I just use baking paper.

  2. Ursula Fletcher says:

    Oh Cath my chops are watering LOL !!!! I’d have to bake a gluten free one, but you make it look so easy !!!!

  3. Kelly FlatEleven says:

    I’m so fascinated by the English Christmas cake! As it’s my first Christmas living in the UK, I definitely want to try this out. So maybe it isn’t too late to give it a go. It looks lovely. X

    • lizzierosejewellery says:

      You should definitely try this one to start with, especially if you are not into heavy fruit cakes. I never used to like Christmas Cake until I started making this (in my late thirties) and I still don’t like Christmas Pudding to this day! Good luck!

I would love to hear your thoughts...

