Joo Chiat Place

Last week I went to a talk on Feng Shui which was held in a lovely shophouse on Joo Chiat Place.  I had never been to this particular road before so, as with anywhere new I visit in Singapore, I dawdled along the way and photographed the architecture, in this case the  beautiful shop houses which have been lovingly restored.

Joo Chiat Road Shophouses

a neutral palette of shop houses

Continuing further down the road there were different colour schemes.. I love this lilac hue:

a lavender facade

a lavender façade

Some of the residents of Joo Chiat Place, happy to be photographed…

This is a lovely long stretch of Road, with uniform houses in white with intricately carved wooden saloon doors.  So peaceful that day as there was no one around.

My other posts featuring Shop Houses:

A stroll down Armenian Street

A morning in Chinatown

19 thoughts on “Joo Chiat Place

  1. CurlyTraveller says:

    I revisited this area about a month ago and loved it …again/still;-).
    This time I had an extra reason to go back, namely the fantastic new mural by Lithuanian/Penang street artist Ernest Zacharevic. I ended up having a lovely stroll through this neighborhood.
    I did not get around to writing an article about it yet, but the pics I took WILL end up in a blogpost one day. For sure.;-)

  2. the eternal traveller says:

    I can’t imagine anywhere in Singapore where there was no one around. How lovely. These buildings remind me of Albert Court Road. Maybe they were all built at the same time. I love these pretty pastel colours.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Gorgeous and only the cats to enjoy it with you! It looks as though one would need to be careful about opening the upstairs doors….hopefully there is a safety rail that we can’t see from the outside!

I would love to hear your thoughts...

