Sri Mariamman Hindu Temple, Singapore

The Sri Mariamman Temple in the heart of Chinatown was a hive of activity when we visited it last year.  I had to pay $3.00 to take photographs, so I took as many as possible, without feeling too guilty that I was perhaps imposing on people’s private rituals.  It’s times like these I always pretend to be an oblivious tourist!

There’s quite a few, as I say, so I decided to put them into a slideshow, something I don’t do very often for aesthetic reasons but I hope you can take the time to watch it and sense the anticipation of the visitors, the bustling feel of the temple and see some lovely architecture too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

21 thoughts on “Sri Mariamman Hindu Temple, Singapore

  1. Gallivanta says:

    That was a treat. Such vibrant colours. And I was especially pleased to see the flower strands. I have been thinking a lot lately about the lovely flowers that Indian women place in their hair.

  2. KerryCan says:

    These photos are so neat! I especially like the ones of the people–is the guy in yellow checking his cellphone?! I also like the one of the exterior of the temple against the backdrop of modern buildings. You got your $3 worth!

  3. Nueyer says:

    I used to pass by this temple quite frequently some years back. While I didn’t pay to take photos inside, I was busy being touristy taking photos of the outside…. just so different from the different angles

I would love to hear your thoughts...

