remember my shoe?

If you are a follower of my blog, you will know how much I love the designs of the Peranakan Culture, the Straits Chinese who settled in Singapore.  My post on the Peranakan Beaded Slippers which the ladies, or Nyonya’s, used to wear is one of the most viewed on my blog, you can take a look at it here.

The original photo

The original photo

It also caught the eye of the Editor of Asian Languages at Marshall Cavendish Education as she contacted me earlier this year to ask permission to use the photo in a School Text Book publication.  Of course I said Yes!

Just before we left Singapore, a copy of the book was delivered to me and I hurriedly took some photos of it (apologies for the quality).  Alas it was not allocated suitcase space so I had to leave it there.  It’s in Malay so it was no use to me for education purposes either!

The title translates to ‘Jeweller’, isn’t that a coincidence?

As you can see from the size of the writing, the photograph was quite small.

But I did get a mention – Yay, I’ve been published!

(To see my other posts on The Peranakan Culture, please search Peranakan in the side bar search box).

14 thoughts on “remember my shoe?

I would love to hear your thoughts...

