Panorama Mesdag

Last year I visited my son in The Netherlands, where he is now studying and living.  Having never been before I was able to behave like a complete tourist and visit a selection of the Art Galleries on offer in The Hague.  One of them was the Panorama Mesdag, which features a huge 360 degree painting by Hendrik Willem Mesdag measuring 120 x 14 meters, yes, that’s meters, of the seaside resort of Scheveningen in 1881.  I’m only posting a few of the photos I took there, for more views, please visit their website here which takes you on a journey around the full painting.  You may notice the difference in the tone of the photos: when the sun shines outside the painting is bright but when the sun disappears the scene is grey and chilly.  Amazing!

 

7 thoughts on “Panorama Mesdag

  1. KerryCan says:

    This is a wonderful idea for a painting and a display! And I like that it changes in mood when the light changes–I wonder if the artist planned all that. Being in the gallery must’ve felt like being at the sea!

I would love to hear your thoughts...

